Moby Dick (TV 2010, 2 x 90 Minutes)

Gallery

Story

Nantucket. In 1850, this little island off the east coast of the United States is the capital of American whaling. Sailors, traders, harpooners – they all hope to make big money on land or sea – or at least to have big adventures. One of them is Ishmael (Charlie Cox), who wanders through the bustling harbour in search of a whaling boat to take him out to sea. Together with a runaway slave Pip (Daniel Gordon) and a fear-inspiring Polynesian harpooner Queequeg (Raoul Trujillo), he signs on as a crewmember of The Pequod.

The commander of The Pequod is the charismatic, some might say despotic, Captain Ahab (William Hurt). An experienced seaman and whale hunter, he lost his leg several years earlier in a struggle with the gigantic white sperm whale known as Moby Dick. Now he is obsessed with exacting revenge on the legendary creature. Neither his long-suffering wife (Gillian Anderson) nor his crew suspect the true extent of his obsessive thirst for vengeance. Only Starbuck (Ethan Hawke), the First Mate of The Pequod, a religious and level-headed man, fears that this journey will not be a regular whale-catching expedition ...

On deck, Ahab eventually tells his crew what the true goal of their voyage is: the death of Moby Dick. Ishmael, now friends with the harpooner Queequeg, is fascinated by his captain’s charisma, willpower and determination. He casts Queequeg’s dark premonitions to the winds. Starbuck, however, keeps reminding them of the blind vindictiveness of Ahab, whose madness and manipulative tactics could mean death for the seamen.

The long and arduous journey across the Atlantic takes The Pequod around the Cape of Good Hope and to the South China Sea. The crew members are subjected to hunger and thirst, to the terrifying stillness of the doldrums and to naked fear – yet Ahab unswervingly pursues his goal: the hunt for Moby Dick. When the harpooners of The Pequod kill one of the white whale’s companions, the seamen witness the anger and power of their adversary. But their first encounter with Moby Dick is only a foretaste of the apocalyptic struggle between man and beast that is about to take place on the high seas, in which not only Ahab and the whale will meet their fates...

Cast & Crew

CastWilliam Hurt, Ethan Hawke, Charlie Cox, Gillian Anderson, Eddie Marsan, Billy Boyd, Donald Sutherland
DirectorMike Barker
NovelNach dem Roman »Moby Dick« von Herman Melville
WriterNigel Williams
Director of PhotographyRichard Greatrex
Production DesignRob Gray
CostumesMartha Curry
MusicRichard Mitchel
EditorDean Soltys
ProductionRobert Halmi Jr. 
(Co-Executive Producer) 
David MacLeod (Co-producer) 
Herbert G. Kloiber
(Executive Producer) 
Rikolt von Gagern (Producer)

 

 

In cooperation with RTL Television and ORF Television.
Supported by the film fond FFF Bayern.

Behind the Scenes

Moby Dick (TV 2010, 2 x 90 Minuten)

Gallery

 
 

Story

Nantucket. Auf der kleinen Insel vor der Ostküste der USA schlägt im Jahr 1850 kräftig das Herz des amerikanischen Walfangs. Seeleute, Händler und Harpuniere hoffen hier auf gute Geschäfte, auf eine Heuer – oder das große Abenteuer. So wie Ishmael (Charlie Cox), der inmitten des Trubels am Hafen ein Walfangschiff sucht, mit dem er in See stechen kann. Zusammen mit dem heimatlosen Jungen Pip (Daniel Gordon) und dem furchteinflößenden polynesischen Harpunier Queequeg (Raoul Trujillo) heuert er auf Pequod an.

Dem Kommandanten des Walfängers eilt ein legendärer Ruf voraus: Der charismatische, beinahe despotische Kapitän Ahab (William Hurt), ein erfahrener Seemann und Walfänger, hat Jahre zuvor in einem Kampf mit dem gewaltigen weißen Pottwal Moby Dick ein Bein verloren. Nun ist er von dem Wahn getrieben, sich an dem sagnumwobenen Tier zu rächen. Weder seine sanftmütige Frau Elizabeth (Gillian Anderson) noch seine Mannschaft ahnen das wahre Ausmaß seiner Vergeltungssucht. Allein Starbuck (Ethan Hawke), der erste Offizier der Pequod, ein zutiefst religiöser und besonnener Mann, der zusammen mit seinem Kapitän bereits einigen Stürmen und Gefahren auf hoher See getrotzt hat, befürchtet, dass diese Reise keine gewöhnliche Walfangexpedition werden wird...

Auf Deck schwört Ahab schließlich seine Mannschaft auf das wahre Ziel dieser Fahrt ein: den Tod von Moby Dick. Ishmael, der längst mit dem Harpunier Queequeg Freundschaft geschlossen hat, ist fasziniert vom Charisma, der Willenskraft und Entschlossenheit seines Kapitäns. Auch von Queequegs düsteren Vorahnungen lässt er sich nicht beeinflussen. Starbuck allerdings warnt immer wieder vor der blinden Rachsucht Ahabs, dessen Wahn und manipulatives Wesen für die Seeleute den Tod bedeuten können.

Auf der langen, harten und entbehrungsreichen Fahrt über den Atlantik, die die Pequod um das Kap der guten Hoffnung in Richtung des Südchinesischen Meeres führt, zehren immer wieder Hunger, Durst, Windstille und nackte Angst an den Nerven der Mannschaft. Aber Ahab hat stets sein Ziel vor Augen: die Jagd auf Moby Dick. Als die Harpuniere der Pequod eine Gefährtin des Wals erlegen, bekommen die Seeleute einen Eindruck von der Wut und Kraft ihres Gegners. Aber die erste Begegnung mit Moby Dick ist nur ein Vorgeschmack auf einen apokalyptischen Kampf zwischen Mensch und Tier auf hoher See, bei dem sich nicht nur das Schicksal von Ahab und dem weißen Wal erfüllen wird...

Cast & Crew

DarstellerWilliam Hurt, Ethan Hawke, Charlie Cox, Gillian Anderson, Eddie Marsan, Billy Boyd, Donald Sutherland
RegieMike Barker
VorlageNach dem Roman »Moby Dick« von Herman Melville
DrehbuchNigel Williams
KameraRichard Greatrex
SzenenbildRob Gray
KostümMartha Curry
MusikRichard Mitchel
SchnittDean Soltys
ProduktionRobert Halmi Jr. 
(Co-Executive Producer) 
David MacLeod (Co-producer) 
Herbert G. Kloiber
(Executive Producer) 
Rikolt von Gagern (Producer)

Behind the Scenes